Bao's weblog

Icon

Meandering thoughts of a Bay Area college student… be prepared for some bipolar vocabulary

Hello again.

Hi, everybody. I heard you guys are living wonderful lives! Well, okay I didn’t hear anything, I just assumed.

Nothing much going on on my end. 

I’m about to leave for a six day family vacation to SOCAL and Las Vegas. I’m more worried about my parents fighting than anything else really. It almost always happens. That, plus the fact that I can’t watch the opening ceremony of the London 2012 Olympics because I don’t have NBC is the cherry on top of my sour mood sundae. 

I spent the day with some old friends today, people I haven’t seen for several years. Despite some stutters in the beginning, conversation slowly became more natural. I ended up having a pretty darn good time. One of them just got off of a plane that came from Europe. It turns out she vacationed in Ireland by herself! She’s younger than I am! 

I honestly can’t wait for my first time abroad without any parents. Just on my own, or maybe with a friend or two. Going to get lost in Seoul or Venice. Going to explore the night lives of Tokyo or Paris. Try the street foods of Saigon and Taipei. Our world feels so small and insignificant as it circles the center of our galaxy doesn’t it? And yet there’s just so much experience to gather and a gazillion things to do. 

I want to leave the United States early in the morning. 2 AM sounds amazing. I want to arrive at my destination in the evening with just enough time to check into my room and grab dinner at a local restaurant before I crash. I want the hustle and bustle of the city to be my alarm clock! I want to be surrounded by friends I’ve brought along plus the friends I will make. 

Okay, I’m not the most outgoing person in the world, but a guy can dream right? 

But for now, I’ll settle for the heat of southern California and Las Vegas. We might even make a trip to the Grand Canyon. I wonder if it’ll be as amazing as the National Geographic magazines make it out to be. We’ll see.

Oh, the Grand Canyon is in Arizona right? I hope their recent reputation of being extremely racist is only the media blowing things up. 

Filed under: General

Leave a Reply

