Bao's weblog

Icon

Meandering thoughts of a Bay Area college student… be prepared for some bipolar vocabulary

Emotionally splinched

At the moment, I don’t know how else to describe my current state or else I wouldn’t borrow a made up word from the world of J.K. Rowling.

Whether I like it or not, summer is (finally) coming to an end. It’s the equivalent to a pilot radioing the control tower and begin discussing their approach vectors. Summer ends just two weeks from now. I can’t wait. But a small part of me, probably the more conventional and sane part of me, dreads this upcoming incubus the same way a small part of me dreads 2012.

I’ve just only begun to enjoy summer’s despicably slow pace. I’m going to miss waking up at 2 in the afternoon just because I can and going outside for a short run while my friends are dying in Berkeley. Sorry guys.

But at the same time, I miss college life. I always idealize sitting outside on the tables, sipping a drink, and reading up on my next class or doing math problems. I miss the dark and eerie atmosphere in our cafeteria whenever it’s stormy outside. I miss driving home in heavy rain or driving to classes while it’s still dark. Oh right, and I miss my friends as well.

I guess I’m just not ready to end this miniature self-isolation from loud friends and chaotic schedules. But I suppose when fall quarter finally begins, I’ll be glad. Hopefully.

I mean seriously, eighteen and a half units is going to be a bitch.

If I don’t end this post here, I’ll only perpetuate this see-saw of pros and cons of this dying summer.

Cheers!

Filed under: General

Leave a Reply

