Bao's weblog

Icon

Meandering thoughts of a Bay Area college student… be prepared for some bipolar vocabulary

Whimsical

Okay, what the fuck?

My seven days are up and once again I’m stuck as to what I’m supposed to write about to keep up with my commitment to this blog.

Here’s something scary. Whenever you’re riding shotgun in your friend’s car, nothing is stopping you from grabbing the wheel and jerking it all the way to the left or right while you guys go down southbound 101 at 80mph. Nothing is stopping you (except perhaps money) from letting you sneak out at three in the morning, drive to San Francisco Intl., and book the next flight Lufthansa flight to Munich. And while I don’t think I’ll ever hijack my friend’s car, I’ve always wanted to travel at the spur of the moment. One day in the future, I’ll be home from work with the wife and we’ll be deciding what to cook for dinner. Out of nowhere, maybe it’ll play out like this:

“Hmm, I’m kinda in the mood for oyster.”

“Ooh, that’s a pretty good idea, but I don’t know how to prepare it.”

“Crap, me neither…”

Option 1:

“Let’s go to Barnes and Nobles and look for a hella good recipe!”

“Alright! You grab the coats, I’ll be waiting in the car!”

Option 2:

“You know where they make hella good seafood? Monterey.”

“Alright! You grab the coats, I’ll be waiting in the car.”

Option 3:

“You know where they make hella good seafood? Japan.”

“But I have work tomorrow…”

“Tomorrow’s Friday… wanna leave after we get off work tomorrow?”

“Two day vacation in Japan? Let’s do it!”

Option three will most likely never happen, because as of now I don’t know a single person who would be up for this. There’s a high probability for options one and two though. At the moment, it’s quite apparent that I value spontaneity very highly in relationships.

Hmm… option 3 never solved the problem of what to have for dinner…

Filed under: General

Leave a Reply

