Bao's weblog

Icon

Meandering thoughts of a Bay Area college student… be prepared for some bipolar vocabulary

First nightmare of 2011

This one wasn’t as scary as it was completely fucked up. I’ve always been afraid that something like this would happen to me, so I suppose it’d make sense for me to live it in my own head. This isn’t one of my usual nightmares that could normally be solved with an FN P-90 bull-pup submachine gun or an F-16C multi-role jet fighter. (interesting side note… whenever many of my friends have those types of nightmares, such as a zombie attack perhaps, their guns never work. Mine, for some reason, works like a charm.) Anyways, this doesn’t happen in a post apocalyptic world or 20,000 feet in the skies above Japan.

This nightmare of mine took place in a church. There I stood in a tuxedo with many of my close friends as groomsmen and bridesmaids. I knew what was happening even though my mind had been basically teleported to this occasion. The organ played and everyone in the seats stood up and faced the aisle. And out the door came the most gorgeous woman I have ever seen in my life. And she wore a graceful wedding dress. For some reason, I knew it was her and I that were getting married. We’ve been together for six years. She was one of my best friends. The reverend spoke. Vows were exchanged… I even remember mine’s. But that’s not what the post is about I suppose.

Do you take this person to be your lawfully wedded wife?

I do.

And do you take this man to be your lawfully wedded husband?

I do.

If there’s any reason you see that these two should not be wedded, speak now or forever hold your peace.

WAIT! And a man stood from the crowd. I’ve always loved you, but I was just so damn scared. I didn’t know what to say. Or when to say it. But please! Give me a chance!

Okay. You know those stereotypical chick flicks where the climax takes place in a wedding? The heroine is about to be married to the evil villain and the main character of the film will dive into the ceremony, cause havoc, and rescue the heroine. I guess that day, I was the villain. The bride spoke.

I’ve… I’ve always loved you too. And I will! I will give you that chance.

Umm, alright. That… That right there… was actually NOT what was fucked up. The part that made me want to commit mass homicide was when everybody in the room started to clap and cheer for that guy. Everybody down to the reverend and my best friends. I even heard the sweeping music that would normally come on in a movie when something happy would occur. Suddenly the people in the seats are beckoning to me to step down as the man walked up with his hand on his chest, smiling. He wore that expression that kind of said, “Thank you very much everyone. It was totally nothing guys. I had this the whole time.”

And they’re all fucking smiling at me! It was like they were saying, “Good job Bao! You’ve played your role. Now please step down graciously.” I looked at my best man (I’m not going to say who it is) for… I don’t know. Support? Acknowledgement that something weird was going on? Instead all I got was a, “Can’t win everything man. But you did good.”

I don’t remember during which part of the dream I woke up.

Well… they said love was like a lemon tree.

Cheers! And once again, happy (belated) 2011.

Filed under: General

Leave a Reply

