Bao's weblog

Icon

Meandering thoughts of a Bay Area college student… be prepared for some bipolar vocabulary

8 days. Just an update for now.

Yet again, I break my promise of delivering one post per week. And yet again, I’ll apologize profusely to myself and to whoever keeps track of this blog.

But, at least I have a lot to talk about. I found a pretty interesting picture that, in my opinion, puts a whole new meaning to “survival of the fittest.”

(This photo is a courtesy David Cenciotti’s weblog, found at http://cencio4.wordpress.com.) I also added his website to my blogroll.

*Insert lame joke about luck and rabbit’s foot here… although technically a hare. I guess a hare’s foot is luckier than a rabbit’s.* AHH, THERE’S THE JOKE.

The planes that just missed killing the rabbit belong to the Italian Aerobatic Team. I found that picture pretty funny and amazing at the same time, although it certainly wouldn’t be funny if one of the aircraft had struck the rabbit. Bad for the rabbit, but definitely bad for the aircraft hitting it and the pilot in it.

Oh by the way, the guy that let me use the picture, Mr. Cenciotti, is EPIC. He’s a private pilot and used to used to be a member of the Italian Air Force. He’s an expert on aviation and has been interviewed on radio, newspapers, and television. I thought it was hella crazy getting a personal email from him letting me use one of his photos. I half-expected him never to reply.

Anyways.

My first week of fall quarter has just ended and the second week will begin tomorrow. I would like to heavily emphasize on the fact that commute is a bitch if you don’t have someone to carpool with. I always take 101 North and switch to I-280N, then switch to I-85 to reach De Anza Community College. On a good day, it normally takes around 20 minutes. On my first day of classes, the ride took an hour and a half. I left 45 minutes early to get to class and arrived 45 minutes late. Thank God my professor doesn’t take attendance during lectures.

This quarter I’m taking another argumentative speech class (I think I’m falling in love with arguing), a more advanced class of calculus, and a more advanced class of physics. I took care of most of my math homework and decided to blog. I have yet to begin on physics or my reading for speech, which is 27 pages of sheer text… but I’m a fast reader so no worries. =P

I also have a crush on physics. She seems fun for now, but I barely got to know her at all. I really hope this relationship develops, because I’ll be seeing a lot of her in my life if I decide to keep going with my aerospace major.

Calculus for me… is like a cruel yet beautiful… bitch. She’s the type of gal that always steps on you, and yet you keep crawling back to her every time. I actually don’t know why I even like her. I take it back, calculus is not beautiful. She’s… okay she has her moments. Some parts of her are amazing. The rest are… eh. I bet they’re all make up.( -__-) But while I’m busy with calculus and physics, I don’t think I’ll have time to look for a real girlfriend, let alone have an actual relationship with her… at least not until I become smarter.

Overall, I think my career path so far is the correct one. I recently found out that I can take pages and pages of notes on a fighter plane and have a blast while I’m at it.

This year will be my second year at De Anza. Soon I’ll sign a TAG for a UC, probably UCI. Meanwhile, I’ll apply to UCSD, UCD, UCLA (no chance there). However, at least half of my applications will probably be sent to universities outside of California. For example, I know that the University of Illinois has an amazing aerospace program. There’s also the USAF Academy (no shot there, either). But one of the options in my life I’m playing around with at the moment is a career in the Air Force, but you can’t fly if you don’t have a Bachelor’s Degree in a hard science or engineering major. Anyways, I’ll have to discuss my options with my counselor, as well as when I can begin applying.

So there’s pretty much my academic life at the moment.

My social life, however, is at stagnant as ever. I’ve devoted so much time to studying that I spend most of my break in the library, only leaving its confines for classes, lunch, or to go home. I’ve made several acquaintances, of course, and met one new person that I study with at the library about twice a week.

I also got into an argument with the co-author of this blog. Actually, it wasn’t really an argument, but it would’ve potentially turned into one if I haven’t decided that I’ll have none of it and curtailed the conversation. I guess the good thing is that we didn’t actually argue. That’s damage control for you. However, we left things in the air. Going over the conversation, it doesn’t seem as bad. Nevertheless, I’m not really sure if Eddie wants to talk to me at the moment, so I’ll just take the opportunity to apologize to him here and let him IM me whenever he wants. So then, I’m sorry for insulting your martial art. Obviously I didn’t intend to. Hell, I didn’t even realize I was being insulting until it was too late.

On a similar note, I caught one of my friends yesterday talking about how much he drank at an outing before driving home “sober.” None of them noticed, but I was trembling with anger at that moment at how lightly he took DUI. There’s actually a pretty angry and sad story behind this, but only a few people know about it… including my friend now that I think about it. I suppose it was mostly mended when everyone else talked about things like, “Wtf, did you even wait before you got into the car?” and he replied with “Yeah, I waited until I was sober.”

“How sober?”

“Around an hour or so when I got this blinding headache. You’re sober when you have a headache!”

“So you drove home with a huge headache?”

Well, that’s enough talking for now. See, I told you that I’ll have more to talk about when classes began. I didn’t blog as frequently because there simply wasn’t anything to talk about. Ironically, I might not blog much because I’m too busy with classwork. At least when I do get to blog, I’ll be so full of things to rant about.

Sayonara.

Filed under: General

Leave a Reply

