Bao's weblog

Icon

Meandering thoughts of a Bay Area college student… be prepared for some bipolar vocabulary

Rules of Friendship #1, 2, 3, and 4

I’m going to start something new. The title is pretty self-explanatory. But I’m going to make a list and it’ll slowly expand. (It has its own page by now). You don’t have to agree with my rules, for these are simply opinion. I won’t be offended if you break these rules if you do have a different opinion (some of them). Obviously I will find some things seriously messed up if you do break some of them.

I guess I’ll also need help since I might be susceptible to breaking these, too. I try hard and I don’t remember violating any of these before middle school. So I’m not a hypocrite if many of you are wondering.

Rule #1?

Loyalty.

What do I mean by that? Haha, I don’t know myself; it’s such a vague word. Loyalty to what extent? Obviously not to the point of being an accomplice in a murder. Be loyal to your friend when things are going great. Be loyal when things are going to hell. It doesn’t matter as long as you’re there for him or her to fall back. For example, if any of you guys called me at 3 in the morning because your car broke down, I WILL drive over… assuming I hear my phone ring. 0_0 Unfortunately there are limitations. If your car broke down in France and I’m in California… sorry. But you can still call me and I’ll use the internet and find phone numbers of roadside service for you.

Rule #2?

If you say you’re going to do something, DO it. If you told your friend you’ll buy something for him, you do it. If you tell him you’ll pick him or her up, you do it.

Rule #3?

Teresa, I think, put it best. Bros before hoes. I admit not answering my phone sometimes, but I WILL always call back. Ah damn, hypocrite status. Though it was only once.

Rule #4?

Friends keep each other’s secrets. There are obvious exceptions, such as confessions to planned suicide, murder, etc. Though even murder is questionable in my opinion.

I’ll have more later. My vocabulary hasn’t been as colorful because I tend to get technical when I write rules.

*****

On a completely unrelated topic, I added a new stats counter. After Audrey introduced it to me, I checked it out and I’m simply amazed by it. Now I can tell how many people do come and go and how many people DO return… to a certain extent. Obviously I can’t use this to track anybody down, but it’ll still be so amazing when there are more people so I can see which people from which countries have seen this blog. I only wish that Audrey had shown this to me sooner.

Cheers!

Filed under: General

6 Responses

  1. Eddie says:

    I completely agree with number 3. I had a dorm neighbor that would ditch James and I for dinner whenever his crush would walk by in the dining commons-and he wonders why James and I are always so distant towards him.

  2. Audrey says:

    #2 & #4 are DIRE in friendships.
    On another note, you’re very welcome!

  3. martinitram says:

    I’m a bit iffy on number three. If by hoes, you mean prostitutes, then by all means, but if you mean our other significant-other, then how can you expect us to keep both relationships stable? But of course, that argument depends on the fact that number 1, 2, and 4 are not broken. XD

  4. hsdksadsa says:

    I think by hoes he means any broadly defined human males/ females showing the least bit of -subjective- interest in said person. Can’t ditch willy nilly for that; gotta show loyalty to the pack. Lol.

Leave a Reply

