Bao's weblog

Icon

Meandering thoughts of a Bay Area college student… be prepared for some bipolar vocabulary

Yeahh, I think I’m Protestant… or am I??

I’ve always wondered what the differences between Christianity and Catholicism were. For awhile, I thought Christians don’t accept the Pope and Catholics do. Okay, I was sort of wrong.

Catholics are Christian. Not all Christians are Catholic. So apparently, Catholicism is a branch of Christianity and I’ve been using the terminologies incorrectly the entire time. Absolutely baffled, I searched on the internet to find the differences.

Catholics believe that the Pope is Christ’s substitute while Protestants believe that no human can replace Christ. The Pope (the Church) tells us how to look at the Bible. I don’t know, but I believe that the Bible is free for individual interpretation. But then, the Bible says, “I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever; that is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you.” So is the Helper the Pope? I’m kind of confused about that part. (This is John 14:16-17 btw) In this view, I’m Protestant unsure, but leaning towards Catholicism. I don’t agree with this concept, but the Bible says it!

Protestants and Catholics believe that if you go to Hell, you’re there like forEVER. (Eternity) However, Protestants believe that when you go to Heaven, you go there and it’s a nonstop flight. Catholics say that you don’t go straight to heaven, rather you pay for the sins you’ve commited before you make it to heaven. In this case, I’m Protestant.

Protestants believe that the Bible alone is sufficient enough for teaching (Sola Scriptura). Catholics believe that the Bible and Sacred Roman Traditions (no clue what these traditions are) In this view, I’m Protestant.

Catholics believe that faith alone isn’t enough. You also have to do good deeds and be active in church. Protestants believe that while works are important, faith alone is enough to bring us to Heaven. In this view, I’m Protestant.

Walking out of this, I’m probably some freaky Catholic/Protestant hybrid, though I’m sure people have felt this way before. I got no clue what to do.

I also heard that Protestants and Catholics despise each other. Apparently a bunch of Protestants were even murdered at the hands of Rome. Ouch.

Filed under: General

2 Responses

  1. teriyakifan says:

    Well actually, when you mentioned that verse in John about the helper, I’m *almost* sure that’s referring to the Holy Spirit… not the Pope 😉 Because it mentions “That He may be with you forever; that is the Spirit of truth…” and “you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you.” It really is impossible for us to truly understand the Bible without the Holy Spirit, whether you realize it or not. And it is very consistent with the Trinity– Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. The Father is God of all, who chose us to be his children and sent his Son to die for us as well as the Holy Spirit to guide us =)

    I hope that helps clear up any confusion!

  2. Bao Pham says:

    0_0

    I think I have to do more research. Thanks =D

Leave a Reply

