Bao's weblog

Icon

Meandering thoughts of a Bay Area college student… be prepared for some bipolar vocabulary

Craziness

Yesterday, I was chatting with my mathematics professor about the concept of a spatial region with infinite dimensions-the Hilbert Space. Okay, it wasn’t much of a chat, I was just sitting there humbled by his vast knowledge and the insanity of it all.

My curiosity got the better of me today and I decided to take a look at the mathematics PhD candidacy exams in analysis. Analysis, it’s just advanced calculus, no problem right?

So yeah, you can totally see where this is going. I was smacked in the face, really hard-couldn’t even differentiate left from right anymore. I stopped looking at the exams when my head started hurting.

Epic fail, going into a realm totally above my head. But at the same time, it’s exhilarating. It’s so exciting to know that there’s so much more to discover about a subject. A swirling, twirling cosmos of death and adventure that awaits anyone who’s brave enough to enter.

Oh, so yeah. I changed my major, because I found out that I’m absolutely fascinated and in love with mathematics.

It’s amazing how such a simple and elegant equation can describe the universe and the infinitely complex systems that we experience everyday. Mathematics is the foundation of all modern science, it serves as the medium between different branches of knowledge and has the power to predict events that will occur in the world. It works by reducing a complex system into manageable, relevant variables and equations that gives us mountains of more information than our eyes and ears will ever tell us.

There is no ambiguity in mathematics. It is pure, sublime, and absolute. Every equation is exact and predictive power in most situations. All variables are carefully defined and all frames of references are explicitly stated.

You may all think that I’m crazy, and I probably am.

I might go more into detail about specific applications of mathematics because that is my interest. I am interested in applications of mathematics in biological and physical phenomena.

Have a great day to all of you,

Eddie

Filed under: General

Leave a Reply

