Bao's weblog

Icon

Meandering thoughts of a Bay Area college student… be prepared for some bipolar vocabulary

Anthrax at EVHS? Things are definitely heating up…

as my friends and I contemplated, discussed, and shared our feelings and reactions as our school was supposedly beseiged by Hazmat teams, FBI agents, U.S. Postal Service, and local police due to an anthrax threat during third period, which turned out to be unscented baby powder. Rumors also circulated about death threats to specific teachers and administrators. Simultaneously, a giant swastika was burned on our school lawn using salt is presumably linked to the same people. A few days before, some of the trees were cut in half. In a way, I suppose a lot of us hold a tinge of resentment towards the East Side Union High School District.

If this was a senior prank, it’d be the worst ever. But what I’m the most nervous about is another potential Columbine incident. Who knows? Maybe an inconspicuous backpack “forgotten” by a student is placed in the middle of the quad during lunch detonates, spewing white hot shrapnel. Maybe I’ll be reading French in my language class and a word is punctuated by an ill willed gunshot. But I also feel a small tinge of guilt as a part of me thinks, “Finally, something interesting in my life is happening.” Maybe I deserve to be shot for thinking like that. Realistically speaking though, if anything happens, it’ll be during break or lunch when most of the student population is outside. Anyone with brains would do that.

The adminstration tried to fix the lawn by painting the dead grass green, but the swastika remained visible.

I always told and imagined myself that if a bomb went off in the quad, I’d be running over to the injured to help. I’m trained in First Aid and Adult CPR. I’m a good person. I can do it. I would do it. But of course, this is just an intellectual thought. Who knows if I’ll have the guts to run towards the bloody scene, fighting against the crowd of sane people running in the opposite direction. I’d really want to though. It may sound like a cliche, idealistic thought, but I’ve always wanted to save a life. I sign up to become an organ donor. I took first aid classes. I wanted to donate blood, only secretly, needles make me nervous. Shots are okay. Sucking a pint of red blood from me… kinda isn’t.

The risks outweigh the gains. I may get shot, get blown to pieces by another hiding bomb, or get shot, or get stabbed, or shot… but if I make it through, I’ll have a bottomless pit of satisfaction and fulfillment that I saved a life. Perhaps as equally important, if not more…

is an edge in future college personal statements! Community service? Pshaw, I saved lives while being shot at.

But of course, nothing beats a 4.0…

Filed under: General

2 Responses

  1. Mitch says:

    i’m disappointed that the administration didn’t cancel school yet. i wouldn’t take chances, with all that’s happening, and the weapons missing. therefore, i’m not going to school tomorrow (3/20)

    (by the way, hi there! i’m a fellow student at EVHS, i found your blog when i googled “EVHS anthrax threat”)

Leave a Reply

